New Zealand Antimicrobial Stewardship & Infection Pharmacist Expert Group (NAMSIPEG)


Antimicrobial resistance (AMR) is a global crisis, slower burning than COVID-19 but potentially as catastrophic. It is a growing problem in Aotearoa New Zealand and may cost us dearly – longer hospital stays, poorer outcomes from interventions like surgery and cancer-related care, increased mortality, and elevated healthcare costs.

The New Zealand Antimicrobial Stewardship/Infection Pharmacist Expert Group (NAMSIPEG) aims to progress antimicrobial stewardship (AMS) in Aotearoa New Zealand. The group is mainly made up of hospital-based pharmacists who specialise in AMS/infection and is strengthened by collaboration with both NZHPA and PSNZ.


Over its first 12 months, NAMSIPEG have been involved in a range of activities:

  • Members represent pharmacy on various national groups including the:

       - Health Antimicrobial Resistance (AMR) Coordination Group (MOH)

       - Chief Science Advisor to the Prime Minister’s major project on infectious diseases/AMR

       - Therapeutics COVID-19 TAG (MOH)

       - PTAC Anti-Infective subcommittee (PHARMAC)

       - Infection Prevention Advisory Group (ACC)

      - National Infection Prevention and Control Expert Group (MOH)


Next steps include improved engagement with pharmacists involved with antimicrobial use beyond the confines of the hospital walls.

  • Sharon Gardiner, Canterbury DHB (Co-lead)
  • Eamon Duffy, Auckland DHB (Co-lead)
  • Emma Henderson, Taranaki DHB
  • Tanya du Plessis, Counties-Manukau
  • Cat Li, Capital and Coast DHB
  • Nicola Davies and Mariam Hardie, Waitemata DHB
  • DK, Hutt Valley DHB
  • Leah Chen, Bay of Plenty DHB
  • Mo Issa, Waikato DHB
  • Kristel Yee and Joyce Lim, Southern DHB
  • J-P Meyer, Lakes DHB
  • Ben Robertson, Hawkes’s Bay DHB
  • Grant McRae, MidCentral DHB
  • Lauren Smith, University of Otago
  • Chloë Campbell, PSNZ
  • Sian Dawson, NZHPA