NZPERF - Prizes

In addition to grants for specific projects, the Foundation sponsors summer studentships and an award for best conference presentation at the NZHPA conference.

A prize of $500 is awarded for the best overall paper presented at the NZ Hospital Pharmacists' Association Conference. This paper is also awarded the Dr L Berry award. The 2019 winner was Anthea Gregan for her paper entitled:

‘Understanding the Factors Influencing Prescriber Uptake of Pharmacist Recommendations in Secondary Care’

Buster Thomas Memorial Scholarship

Buster Thomas, a pharmacist from Porirua and latterly in his career Johnsonville, bequeathed funds from his estate to NZPERF to invest and apply the net proceeds to fund the establishment of a scholarship to be known as the Buster Thomas Memorial Scholarship. This scholarship is to educate a student who is unable from his or her available resources to afford to attend Otago University to graduate as a pharmacist. This scholarship will be awarded every four years and provides $15,000 per annum for four years to cover fees and books plus accommodation in a hall of residence for 38 weeks per year.

The Buster Thomas Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Rosie Fahey from Tawa College, who commenced her studies at Otago University in 2018 and will finish at the end of 2021.

The Buster Thomas Memorial Scholarship is open now for applications from secondary school students within the Porirua Basin area. Click below for applications that close on 31 August 2021.

Buster Thomas Memorial Scholarship Application form

Student Information

Careers Advisor Information

For further information contact: Jess Morrison, New Zealand Pharmacy Education and Research Foundation, PO Box 11640, Manners Street, Wellington 6142. Physical Address is Level 12, Grand Arcade Tower, 18 Willis Street, Wellington 6011.

Phone 04 802 0030, E-mail: