The Society Awards recognise contribution to the profession

Gold Medal

The gold medal can be awarded to a member who has made a significant and outstanding contribution to the profession of pharmacy in New Zealand that is of a higher level then that deserving of a fellowship.

The National Executive appoints a panel of three to make the award. Nominations are not solicited for this award. Gold medals are pinnacle awards and there have only been 30 awarded in total.

Fellows of the Society

A long tradition recognises the profession’s stalwarts.

The Rules of the Society state that “the National Executive may in its discretion by ordinary resolution designate as a Fellow of the Society any Member who in their opinion has made an outstanding and significant contribution to the advancement of pharmacy in New Zealand".

A panel of Fellows who are not members of the National Executive is appointed to recommend to the Executive, pharmacists who are members of the Society and have made an outstanding and significant contribution to the advancement of pharmacy in New Zealand.

Fellowship Award Guidelines click here and Fellowship Nomination Form click here.

Closing date for 2021 Fellowship nominations is Wednesday 29 September 2021.

Award for Services to Maori in Pharmacy

The Award for Services to Maori in Pharmacy was created by the National Executive in 2010 to recognise individuals who they felt had served Maori in pharmacy.

Pharmaceutical Society Pharmacist of the Year

Nominations for the 2020 Award have now closed. Nominations for the 2021 Award will open on 1 January 2021.

Do you know someone who;

  • Consistently demonstrates excellence in professional clinical pharmacy practice by providing high quality clinical pharmacy services that improve patients outcomes;
  • Raises the profile and role of the clinical pharmacist; and
  • Provides a model of practice that others strive to emulate.

Following the closing of nominations they are taken to a specially formed panel representing the Ministry of Health, pharmacy and medical professionals.

The recipient of the award receives a grant to further their education or professional development.

The submission deadline for 2021 nominations will be announced later in the year.

Top Student Awards

Each year the Society honours the achievements of the top students in the University of Otago and University of Auckland Schools of Pharmacy. Top students for Year 3 and 4 in both schools receive a plaque and a grant.

Jack Noel Henderson Scholarship

In accordance with the wishes of the late Jack Noel Henderson, this scholarship was established to assist full time second year pharmacy students who were financially disadvantaged and unable to pay course costs.

Two scholarships of $3,000 each will be available but not necessarily awarded in each year.

Applications for 2021 are now open, click here for an application form.

Applications need to be received no later than 4pm on Monday 23 August 2021.