The Pharmaceutical Society has awarded Brooke McKay Pharmacist of the Year 2022. The Pharmacist of the Year award was first made in 2012 and recognises achievement by an individual pharmacist who has given outstanding service to the pharmacy profession and the New Zealand Health service. Nominations are taken to a specially formed panel representing the Manatu Hauora Ministry of Health, pharmacy and medical professionals. Congratulations, Brooke!

Brooke is an early career pharmacist who has already been successful in her nine-year career. She became a community pharmacy owner in Upper Hutt at the age of 25. Her pharmacy employs 22 staff, so she understands the challenges facing pharmacy owners.

Brooke has been a Pharmaceutical Society of New Zealand branch president for three years and a branch committee member for seven years. She is a board member for the Pharmacy Guild of New Zealand, and has been both an intern and PACT preceptor.

She is passionate about pharmacist consultation services, vaccinations and embracing tikanga Māori and te reo Māori and enabling all pharmacists and pharmacy staff to provide culturally safe pharmacy practice.

Brooke is one of the confirmed Speakers at our 2023 national conference 'Just Breathe' taking place in Auckland on 17 and 18 June. You will have the chance to meet Brooke on Sunday 18, the second day of the conference at the Plenary Session at 3.30pm - The Reality of Pharmacy Consultation Services from the Front Line. And of course, also at the Awards Gala Dinner on Saturday evening! Join us at the conference and connect with your pharmacy colleagues. More information can be found on our website here.