Who we are

Pharmaceutical Society of New Zealand is a professional, membership based association representing 3,400 pharmacists and technicians. Members receive:

  • Professional support.
  • Representation and advocacy.
  • Training for continuing professional development.

This enables them to provide patients with the best advice concerning medicines

National Executive Members 2015 - 2017

Governance for the organisation is provided by a seven member elected National Executive of Society members. The current National Executive members are all registered and practising pharmacists. The Rules of the Society also makes provision for one co-opted member drawn from New Zealand Hospital Pharmacists’ Association Inc (NZHPA), to attend all National Executive meetings.

Elected Members

Graeme Smith

Graeme is the owner of a community pharmacy in Rangiora and also works part time as the General Manager of the Canterbury Community Pharmacy Group.

He has previously been Deputy Chair of both NZCP and Unichem/Pharmacybrands. Graeme has a keen interest in the integration of pharmacy into the primary care health team so that the cognitive skills of pharmacists are both recognised and utilised. This is a major focus of his role with the Canterbury Community Pharmacy Group. Graeme is accredited for and provides Medicines Use Reviews, Smoking Cessation, Trimethoprim, Immunisation and Emergency Hormonal contraception.

Vice President

Ian McMichael
JP DipPharm FPS RegPharmNZ MRPharmS

Ian is the Managing Director of Pharmacy 547, a specialist pharmacy and it is here he leads the team which developed both the Community Pharmacy Anti-Coagulation Management Service (CPAMS) and also immunisation by community pharmacists.
Ian and his team have been finalists and winners at many NZ Pharmacy Awards
including being finalists in two categories at the 2015 awards. Ian was awarded a Fellowship of the Society in 2013 in recognition of his pioneering work in
developing new pharmacist services.


William (Billy) Allan

BPharm (Hons) MSc (Dist) MEd FPS MRPharmS FNZHPA ANZPP RegPharmNZ

Billy is Chief Pharmacist (Primary and Secondary Services) for the Hawke’s Bay Health Sector and manager of the hospital pharmacy service, Hawke’s Bay Hospital. As Chief Pharmacist he is responsible for strategic and professional leadership and performance of the Hawke’s Bay District Health Board (HBDHB) Community and Hospital Pharmacy Services. He currently serves on the HBDHB Clinical Council, Community Pharmacy Service Agreement Clinical Partnership Working Group, Hospital Pharmaceuticals Subcommittee of PTAC (The Pharmacology and Therapeutics Advisory Committee), PHARMAC, Tender Medical Subcommittee of PTAC (PHARMAC) and HITB/HQSC Medication Safety Steering Group. He was made a fellow of the Pharmaceutical Society in 2012.

Clare Hynd


Clare is employed in community pharmacy in Palmerston North. She has been a pharmacy owner, hospital pharmacist and a locum. She is a MUR accredited pharmacist and is involved in developing new services. Her interests include technicians and their training and their future roles as pharmacists’ roles develop.

Dr Natalie Gauld

DipPharm MPharm PhD FPS RegPharmNZ MRPharmS

Natalie is a pharmacist who provides consultancy services primarily around consumer access to medicines, through Natalie Gauld Ltd. Her pharmacy experience includes community pharmacy, hospital pharmacy, industry, and research. Since being a member of the Medicines Classification Committee (2004-2009), Natalie has facilitated prescription to non-prescription reclassifications of medicines including trimethoprim, sildenafil, topical calcipotriol and vaccinations, often working with Green Cross Health. Some of these reclassifications have been world firsts and won awards. Natalie is a Fellow of the Pharmaceutical Society of NZ, an Honorary Research Fellow with the University of Auckland, and has an affiliate position with the University of Otago.

Dr John Dunlop

PGDipPharm MPharm DPharm(Auck) PGCertClinPharm(Prescribing) FPS FNZCP FACPP MCAPA

John has worked for many years to develop and extend pharmacy practice accumulating years of experience in rural, provincial and city pharmacy. This culminated in the development of the first dispensary only pharmacy in Wanganui, winning the then Steven’s New Zealand Marketing Award.
As one of the first prescribing pharmacists John has worked in general practice proving clinical advisory pharmacist services and prescribing. He was the first New Zealand pharmacist to gain a Fellowship of the Australian College of Pharmacy Practice and served on the Board of the College until he became a manager in 1998. His research for his Doctorate of Pharmacy was investigating the outcomes of clinical medication reviews in primary care.

Kirsten Simonsen

MPS MPharm

Kirsten has been both Secretary and President of the Otago Branch of the Society.
She has worked for much of her career in secondary care (hospital) pharmacy and has specialised in psychiatric pharmacy, maternity care, paediatrics and neonates, health care for the elderly and clinical trials.
She now works in a shared role as a clinical editor with the New Zealand Formulary and pharmacist advisor in the Best Practice Journal team.

Co-opted Members

Kim Brackley
MPS President NZHPA

Dr Lynn McBain

Dr Lynn McBain will join the National Executive as a co-opted member in February 2017.

She provides the voice of a general practitioner at the governance table to support the move by the profession towards integrated care.

Dr McBain graduated from Dalhousie University in Canada and emigrated to New Zealand in the 1980s.She is a partner in Brooklyn Medical Centre and Deputy Chair of the Compass Health PHO.

Dr McBain also Chairs the Compass Health Clinical Quality Board and is a Senior Lecturer in Primary Health Care and General Practice at the University of Otago Wellington campus.

Fiona Bradley

Fiona Bradley will join the National Executive in February as the early career pharmacist.

Fiona moved to the Manawatu, after completing her degree at Otago and has been working in community pharmacy in Palmerston North over the last seven years.

Fiona joined the local PSNZ branch committee and in 2014 was elected to the MidCentral Community Pharmacy Group (MCPG) Board.

She has served on the National Board for Girl Guiding New Zealand over the last five years, represented girls and young women internationally and held the Advocacy Portfolio for two years.
Fiona is looking forward to contributing to the Society National Executive as an early career pharmacist.

Cameron Monteith

Reciprocal non-voting board member from the Pharmacy Guild

Management team

Chief Executive Officer
Richard Townley

Chief Pharmacist Advisor
Bob Buckham
EVOLVE Intern Training Programme Manager
Debbie Wallace
Pharmacy Self Care Manager
Mary Wong
ENHANCE Programme Manager
Liz Johnstone
Marketing and Communications Manager
Veronica Challies
Finance Manager
Margaret Pearce
College Programmes Manager
Shirena Vasan
Pharmacy Defence Association
Carolyn Hooper

Pharmaceutical Society of New Zealand Incorporated (the Society) is a voluntary body that provides professional support, education, training and career development for pharmacists and pharmacy technicians. The Society is incorporated under the Incorporated Societies Act 1908. The Society is registered with the Charities Commission and is a charitable entity under the Charities Act 2005 (registration number CC42418).