10th Anniversary Celebrations

View gallery

On Thursday 15 October the Society celebrated its 10th anniversary at a function in Wellington.
Just over ten years ago the 'new' Society was formed following changes to the Health Practitioners Competency Assurance Act.
The function provided a unique opportunity to forge relationships with key senior representatives of the health sector.
Over 80 people attended.
Clare Hynd, Acting President, said in her speech that the evening provided an opportunity to share some of the Society's milestones.
"Some of you will remember a small Pharmaceutical Society barely financially viable and with no profile, credible voice or market presence, but with a lot of hard work by many people we now have a strong professional body"
Richard Townley, Chief Executive thanked past presidents Bernie McKone, Chris Budgen, Elizabeth Plant and Dale Griffiths.
Richard compared the changes in the health system to his recent experience in a Spanish fast train from Madrid to Barcelona.
"We were rapidly approaching the end point at an ever increasing speed. It felt like our experience with the current New Zealand health system.
Patients are rapidly increasing while the workforce of GP's, specialists and even nurses is set to rapidly decrease."

This is the era of the pharmacist workforce.

Ruth Anderson from Health Work Force New Zealand also spoke and congratulated the Society for the milestones it has achieved during the last ten years. In particular the successful implementation of the Community Pharmacy Anticoagulation Management Service (CPAMS) and the work currently being carried out to introduce Checking Technicians.
The Society also gave attendees a fold out commemorative timeline marking its achievements over the past ten years including getting CPAMS of the ground, the launch of the NZ National Services Framework and its partnership for care with the New Zealand Medical Association. The timeline also sets out the Society objectives for 2015 to 2020..

A copy of the commemorative timeline has been sent to all members and is available from the link below.

View the commemorative timeline