2020 Primary Healthcare Award Winners

The Pharmaceutical Society of New Zealand would like to congratulate all the winners of the 2020 New Zealand Primary Healthcare Awards.

The awards celebrate the outstanding work that is taking place throughout the primary care health sector in New Zealand.

The Pharmaceutical Society of New Zealand sponsored the innovation in service delivery award this year.

"The future primary healthcare environment needs innovation and healthcare professionals who are empowered to work in new roles to better serve our community. It is great to see the award winners working collaboratively and in innovative ways to provide positive health benefits to patients throughout the country," says Richard Townley, Chief Executive of the Society.

Award winners were announced at a gala dinner in Auckland on Saturday 29 February 2020. 

ACC supreme award

Winner: Adrian Tucker - Ropata Medical Centre, Cosine Primary Care Network Trust

Pharmaceutical Society innovation in service delivery award

Winner: High Tech Imaging (HTI) Client-Centric Design Initiative in Primary Care - ProCare, Mercy Radiology

Finalist: Early recognition of acute deterioration in Aged Residental Care (ARC) residents - Project ERAD - Western Bay of Plenty PHO

Highly Commended: Medwise Clinical Pharmacy Service

ACC patient safety award

Winner: 'Every Patient, Every time' - making you safer when you visit the GP/Pharmacy - Safety in Practice team - Auckland and Waitematā DHBs

Finalist: Health Navigator Te Waka Hauora through improving patient safety - Health Navigator Charitable Trust

Southern Cross Health Insurance primary and secondary integration award

Winner: True partnership in care: E-consultation - Institute of Innovation and Improvement (i3) at Waitematā DHB

Finalist: Prescribing of long term opoids: Clinical Pharmacists bring primary and secondary care together to uncover the real issues - Clinical Pharmacist Facilitators Team, Hawke's Bay DHB

Spark Health excellence in information technology award

Winner: Conquering the Perfect Storm - Orchestrating a Magnificent Response to the Measles Outbreak in Auckland - Total Healthcare PHO, Tāmaki Health

Finalist: Clearhead - free, online mental health platform

Ministry of Health equity award

Winner: Skin and Soft Tissue Infections in the Pacific Population (HAPPY SKIN) - The Fono

Finalist: Making Independence Accessible to Blind and Low Vision New Zealanders - HabitGroup, Blind Low Vision NZ

Habit Group best mental health programme

Winner: Wellness Support - Counties Manukau DHB

Finalist: EBPHA Mental Health Programme - The Eastern Bay Primary Health Alliance (EBPHA)

Highly Commended: Wellness Support Team Tāmaki Health

Medispace good space award

Winner: Castlecliff Health

Finalist: Kelburn Northland Medical - Together under one roof

Best youth and senior health service award

Winner: Piki - Led by Tū Ora Compass Health

Finalist: Health Connections

Research and education award

Winner: Osteoarthritis - reducing the disease burden - Longhurst Pharmacy, Riccarton & Longhurst Physio

Finalist: Rural Health Careers Promotion Programme - New Zealand Rural General Practice Network

BDO business achievement award

Winner: Creating Integrated Multicentre Interdisciplinary Healthcare - The Southern Rehab Model

Finalist: KPT Medical Group - Karaka, Pōkeno & Takanini

Blue Star best supplier service, product or campaign

Winner: Sanofi Patient/GP Insulin Initiation Tool - Sanofi New Zealand, Atlantis Healthcare

Finalist: HPV Immunisation, High School Catch-up Programme - Seqirus (NZ) Ltd, Insight

Pharmacy Guild community pharmacy of the year

Winner: Longhurst Pharmacy

Finalist: Angelsea Pharmacy

Douglas Pharmaceuticals community or primary healthcare pharmacist

Winner: Leanne Te Karu - Pihanga Health, Papakura Marae Health Centre

Finalist: Penny Clark - NorthCare Medical Centre

ProPharma community pharmacy technician of the year

Winner: Samantha Burgess - Life Pharmacy Coastlands

Finalist: Alison Hayden - Pharmacy 547

Highly Commended: Arzhay Heslop - Huntly West Pharmacy

Total Healthcare general practice

Winner: Tongan Health Society

Finalist: Feilding Health Care

Medtech general practitioner of the year

Winner: John Elliot - Kumeu Village Medical Centre

Finalist: Glen Davies - Taupō Medical Centre

Highly Commended: Oliver A Samin - Royal Oak Medical Centre

College of Nurses Aotearoa NZ nurse practitioner of the year

Winner: Jackie Clapperton - The Doctors - Te Whare Hāpara, Turanga Health at Te Karaka Medical Centre, St John and Hauora Tairāwhiti

Finalist: Karen Hoare - Greenstone Family Clinic, Massey University

Practice nurse of the year

Winner: Pauline Fitzgerald - Papakura Marae Health Centre

Finalist: Dianne Theobald - Newtown Union Health Service

GlaxoSmithKline practice/business manager of the year

Winner: Adrian Tucker - Ropata Medical Centre, Cosine Primary Care Network Trust

Finalist: Erin Thompson - Health Connections

Sanofi good sort award

Winner: Louise Shambrook - Taradale Medical Centre

Finalist: Mark Shirley - Southern Rehab

Highly Commended: Megan Cumming - West Coast PHO

Green Cross Health outstanding contribution to health

Winner: Linda Bryant

Finalist: Nikki Turner