Pharmaceutical Society of New Zealand Past President Medal Ian James McMichael FPS November 2022

Ian was elected to the National Executive of the Pharmaceutical Society of New Zealand in 2011 and was then elected by the National Executive to be its Vice President for 3 years from 2016 through to 2018, then in late 2018 they elected Ian as their President, a position he held through to late 2020.

During his two years as President, Ian continued as a pioneer, driver and always in relentless pursuit of his and the Societies vision for pharmacy. Ian's top focus of community pharmacy being the go-to place for community vaccinations has now been realised.

As President, Ian was prepared to put himself in uncomfortable positions and push forward because it was the right thing to do.

His term as President continued strongly the Presidential role of visionary and bringing inspiration to another generation of pharmacists.

Upon his resignation from the National Executive Ian was thanked by everyone around the table for the work he did to make things better for the profession, for his passion and values and being the driver behind having Ngā Kaitiaki o Te Puna Rongoā o Aotearoa – The Māori Pharmacists Association as an appointed member of the National Executive.